Writing Tips

  • While writing for trends is often not advised (because by the time your book comes out in 2+ years everyone will have moved on) it’s good to keep an eye on the industry. This article talks about some current trends.

  • Edit backwards! If you’ve revised and revised but something isn’t working with your book, try revising from the end. I’ve tried this and it really helps you see your work with new eyes. (Unusual Writing Tips via Kidlit411)

  • Take yourself on an artist date.

  • If you’re looking for mentor texts but you’re on a budget, check out your local library. And if you’re in California, did you know you can get a library card to any library in the state? This TikTok has the details: https://www.tiktok.com/t/ZPR7Y1ASU/

    Or go to: www.library.ca.gov

    You will probably have to go to the library in person to complete your application by showing your ID but it varies from library to library.

  • Take a look at your opening line. [Twitter thread via Kidlit411]

  • Don’t Write.

    What? You’re supposed to be giving us writing tips, I hear you cry. But this week take some time to do something else. Dive into a new book. Try art journalling. Start a new workout practice like pilates or walking. Go to an art museum. Soak in some inspiration and come back refreshed.

  • Stuck on what to write? Try this formula: Once upon a time there was ___. Every day, ___. One day ___. Because of that, ___. Because of that, ___. Until finally ___.

    This is from Pixar’s 22 Rules of Storytelling via Kidlit411

  • In my Creator Chats (see here and here) I ask my guests what their prewriting rituals are. This week, have a think about a ritual you can put in place, something as simple as lighting a candle, that will signal your intent to start writing.

  • Use your local library and the resource NoveList to find comp titles and mentor texts for your next project. You can search using a title if you want to find similar books. You can use keywords. Or you can use a really cool tool that lets you mix characters, tone, writing style and more to get suggested titles. Let me know if you try it out or if you have more tips on how to use it.

  • I personally don’t follow the advice to write every day, I simply can’t and if I thought that was the only way to be a writer I would have given up long ago. However, when I’m actively working on a project I will at least think about that project every day and take notes, or research, or daydream about the manuscript. That way my brain is still working on the story in the background and making connections so that when I come back to the work, I’m ready to go.

  • Read your work aloud. I catch mistakes, places where the dialogue sounds unnatural, and notice where sentences don’t flow properly. I think it’s especially essential to read picture books aloud, after all that’s how your finished book will be read to the kid audience.

  • I’ve written about the connection between running and writing before so here’s that article. And here’s an additional tip: Run your own race. Don’t compare your pace or progress or medals (deals, awards, sales) with someone else.

  • If your manuscript isn’t working, try switching up the point of view (POV) or tense. I rewrote my first book, Evelyn the Adventurous Entomologist, 50 times and many of those rewrites were written in different POVs or tenses which helped me get closer to the final story I wanted to tell. Switching to 1st can help you get more inside your character’s head. Switching to present tense can make the story feel more immediate. For more on POV and tenses take a look at these articles:

    How to Write in Present Tense

    How to Use Close Third-Person To Get Closer to Your Characters

    PAST OR PRESENT? LEARN WHICH TENSE IS BEST FOR YOUR NARRATION

  • One way of finding stories that are true to you is to free write about your past. Think about your childhood, the things you loved to do and read and watch, what makes you squirm to look back on, the places you grew up, family vacations, and so on. Just write, and remember no one will see any of this, it’s just for you. Look for recurring themes and emotions that might help you find a connection with your current work in progress or spark a brand new story. This is also a good way to find specificity in your story. Instead of writing “she pulled on her new hat.” You can use your own memories to be more specific: “I took the misshapen woolen hat from Grandma and tugged it over my wonky bangs. At least it hid my disastrous attempt at a haircut.”

  • Publishing one book is amazing but what if you could sell a whole series? My Wish Library series has five books so I know a thing or two about pitching and writing a series.

    It all starts with your idea. It must be something that can sustain a series, is super kid-appealing, and allows you to craft some memorable characters. Read more here: How To Turn an Idea Into a Chapter Book Series - Writer's Digest

  • Find your community. My fabulous critique partners are everything. I wouldn’t be published without them or without the broader writing community that I’m a part of. You can find your community by joining organizations like SCBWI and attending local or virtual events. If you write picture books, I love 12x12. You can also join free Facebook groups like Kidlit411.

    Plus, be an active member of your local bookish community. Attend book launches, buy books from your local independent bookstores, and support fellow creators on social media.

  • Read mentor texts. When you’re tackling a story, look for books that can act as mentors for your work. This is especially useful when you’re working in a new category or genre but also if you’re struggling with a certain aspect of your manuscript such as pacing or dialogue.

    Here are some more resources on finding and using mentor texts:

  • Take a look at your current work in progress. Is there an opportunity to add a repeated line? Refrains are beloved by readers, can give your book structure, and can emphasize your book’s message. What’s not to love?

    Read more about picture book refrains in this article I wrote for Writer’s Digest.